Insomniac and Absent…

So it’s 4:15 AM and I can’t seem to fall asleep and this will likely be posted later today. But before I get into details let me say that if you are wondering why I’ve been missing for the last few months it’s really rather simple… I’ve been very busy and had a lot on my plate.

I was watching a movie not too long ago and an interesting quote struck me and cannot sleep. “What do you want in life?” Now most of us believe that we have some idea of what we want but it is much harder to be certain. There are few things that I am certain about but those few are fundamental to who I am and who I want to be.

This summer will be an interesting one for me. I will be spending a fair chunk of it back home in Portugal. As a result I will undoubtedly be making frequent updates to the blog. Furthermore, this summer I have the honour and pleasure of celebrating the marriage of 6 great friends. I wish them all the happiness in the world.

Now back to life and wants. In the movie the answer that was given is freedom. That’s certainly not simple and people constantly fight for it. But there is more than just freedom from tyranny and oppression. Freedom can be spiritual, social and even intellectual. It’s never easy and nothing in life ever is.

My suggestion to everyone who reads this is simple. Think of what you want from the short lives we have. When you’ve found something, fight long and hard for it. I’m still fighting everyday and every night for as long as I can.

Good luck to you all! Feel free to leave some comments and share what it is you want. You can’t look around a turn in the road but you can always choose where you let the road take you.

1 thought on “Insomniac and Absent…

  1. Hey Ricardo where have you been ? I like what you have posted. Sounds like you have been doing a lot of soul searching. Maybe soon before you go on your trip we can get together.
    Take care and all the best.
    Xo Laura M

Leave a comment